All Progressives Congress (APC)

APC Presidential Screening Postponed Indefinitely


The ruling All Progressives Congress APC has postponed indefinitely, the screening of its presidential aspirants earlier slated for Monday, May 23.

Although no reason was given for the postponement of the exercise, the ruling party has been consistent in violating its own timetable and schedule of activities for the 2023 general election.

No fewer than 25 presidential aspirants will contest for the presidential ticket of the ruling APC.

As of midnight Friday, May 13, the 25 aspirants were able to meet the deadline for submitting completed forms.

To this end, it might be uncertain if the 25 aspirants will slug it out at the presidential primary of the party slated for Monday, May 30.

The list of the presidential aspirants that submitted their nomination forms includes one of the party’s leaders Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the Vice President of Nigeria Oluyemi Oluleke Osinbajo, Ekiti State governor, Dr John Kayode Fayemi, former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, former Minister of Niger Delta Development, Sen. Godswill Akpabio, former Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Dr Ogbonnaya Onu, former Imo State governor, Senator Rochas Okorocha and former Ogun State governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosu.

Others are Pastor Tunde Bakare, Cross River State governor, Professor Ben Ayade, his Ebonyi State counterpart, Governor Dave Umahi, Minister of State, Education, Honourable Emeka Nwajiuba, former Senate President, Senator Ken Nnamani, Kogi State governor, Yahaya Bello, Jigawa State Governor Mohammed Badaru Abubakar and former Zamfara State governor, Senator Ahmed Yerima.

Also on the list of presidential aspirants that filed their papers are Senator Ajayi Borroffice, the only female aspirant, Barr. (Mrs) Uju Kennedy Ohnenye, Pastor Nicholas Felix Nwagbo, former Speaker of Representative, Honourable Dimeji Bankole, Senate President, Dr Ahmed Lawal, AfBD Managing Director, Akinwumi Adesina, former Minister of State, Petroleum, Chief Timipre Sylva, former Minister of Information, Chief Ikeobasi Mokelu and Mr Tein Jack Ric.

This will be the second time that the National Working Committee of the ruling party will be shifting the date of the presidential screening after it failed to hold last weekend.

The development was confirmed in a statement by APC National Publicity Secretary, Felix Morka, Sunday night.

The statement said, “A new date for the exercise will be announced shortly. Any inconvenience caused is deeply regretted.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.