We want Ijero Municipal LCDA, not Marginalization – Ijero-Ekiti Stakeholders


The Ijero-Ekiti people of Ekiti State have called for the creation of the Ijero Municipal Local Council Development Area from the present Ekiti state.

The people stated this at a press conference they held on Friday, August 13, 2021, in Ijero-Ekiti to articulate their position on the renewed struggle for Ijero municipality in Ekiti geopolitics and the clamour for the true political delineation of Ekiti State for bringing grassroots democracy and development.

Oba Adebayo Adewole

HRM, Oba Adebayo Adewole, The Ajero of Ijero Kingdom

The call came against the background of the press release of Thursday, August 12, 2021, issued from the desk of the Chairman, Local Council Development Areas (LCDA)Implementation Committee in Ado-Ekiti to review steps taken by the Ekiti State Government on the creation of the new LCDAs. It will be recalled that two additional LCDAs; Irede LCDA (Ikoro-Ekiti, Ipoti, Ejiyan, Owatedo, Odoowa and Ilukuno) and Irewolede LCDA (Iloro, Ijurin, Temidire, Ayegunle, Iroko and Okeoro) and the new Ijero Local Government (Ijero, Epe, Ara and Araromi) was carved out of the present Ijero Local Government Area of Ekiti State.

Speaking under the umbrella of the Ijero Municipal Agenda (IMA), the socio-political pressure and cultural organization of the Ijero-Ekiti people, Femi Alufa, the convener of IMA said: “Ijero Municipal LCDA within the Ijero metropolitan of four wards should be created out of the present Ijero LGA with twelve wards. Ijero-Ekiti metropolitan is affected badly in the new geopolitical structure of the Ekiti State.” Major General Kayode Oni, a retired major-general, told EKITI SUMMIT via telephone that Ijero Municipal LCDA should be created in the interest of equity, justice and fairness in the Ekiti State and especially in the Ijero district.

“We reject any proposal by Ekiti State Government to create an Area Office in Ikoro-Ekiti under the new Ijero Local Government.” Ikoro-Ekiti should be given a separate Eso Obe LCDA as the people of Ikoro demanded it. What we demand in Ijero-Ekiti is the creation of additional LCDA within the Ijero metropolis as Ijero Municipal LCDA and Ijero Local Government,” Femi Alufa stated.

The #IjeroMunicipalAgenda is built on the purpose, to formulated a workable solution to enhance social values, improve the quality of life of our people to ensure that Ijero-Ekiti and other towns in the present

Major General Kayode Oni

Major General Kayode Oni, rtd. Chairman, Ijero Vision Foundation (IVF)

Ijero Local Government Area of Ekiti State have a sense of belonging in Ekiti Geo-Politics, have access to Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and take their place in present Nigeria’s democracy and 21st-century world.

Out of the 8 Ekiti Local Government Areas of the 17 LGAs of the old Ondo State (Ekiti Central, Ekiti North, Ekiti West, Ero, Ekiti South, Ekiti South West, Ekiti East and Ijero LGAs), it is only the present Ijero LGA and one other LGA that has not been delineated since 1976. What a political marginalization of the people.

  1. Ekiti Central LGA is now 2 LGAs; Ado-Ekiti LGA and Irepodun/Ifelodun LGA with one Federal Constituency (Ekiti Central Federal Constituency 1)
  2. Ekiti North LGA is now 2 LGAs; Ikole and Oye LGA with one Federal constituency (Ekiti North Federal Constituency 1).
  3. Ekiti West LGA is now Ekiti West LGA and Efon LGA (as 2/3 part of a Federal constituency in Ekiti Central Federal Constituency 2.
  4. Ero LGA is now three (3) LGAs; Ido/Osi LGA, Moba LGA and Ilejemeje LGA with one Federal constituency (Ekiti North Federal Constituency 2).
  5. Ekiti South LGA is now three (3) LGAs; Ikere LGA, Ise/Orun LGA and Emure LGA as one Federal constituency.
  6. Ekiti East LGA is now sub-divided into 2(two) LGAs as the present Ekiti East LGA and Gbonyin (Aiyekire) LGA.

It is only the present Ijero LGA and Ekiti South West LGA that has not enjoyed political delineation since the creation of Ondo State in 1976 and Ekiti State in 1996, whereas Ijero LGA has 16 towns and villages and Ekiti South West LGA consists of only 3 towns and villages (Ilawe-Ekiti, Ogotun-Ekiti and Igbara Odo-Ekiti).

The point of all this is to suggest that creating four (4) other Local Councils/Local Council Developments Areas (LCDAs) from the present Ijero Local Government Area is not skewed LGA creation. It is a wake-up clarion call for the development of the Ijero Geo-political region of Ekiti State. It is only travellers with closed minds who will not see that the present Ijero LGA is bigger than many Local Government Councils in Ekiti State today.

“We appeal to the Ekiti State Government under Dr Kayode Fayemi and the Local Council Development Areas (LCDA) Implementation Committee headed by the Attorney-General and Commissioner of Justice, Mr Wale Fapohunda to consider and approve the request for the creation of the Ijero Municipal LCDA for the people of Ijero-Ekiti to have a true taste and impact of grassroots democracy and development in the new scheme of Ekiti Geo-politics and local government administration,” Ijero Municipal Agenda Stakeholders stated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.